Ballad of the Nightingale

There’s a story that lies behind your eyes
And you’ve covered it up, cleverly disguised
You try to draw attention outside the lines
But I’ve seen a glimpse and I know what’s inside

There’s a fire inside that is waiting to be sparked
It is burning within you, the little embers leave marks
There’s a rose that is waiting to be plucked
Waiting for a hand brave enough to overlook the thorns

I hear the whimpers of a voice that with time has grown old
Waiting to speak, to shout, to scream
I see the lines of a story that has yet to be told
In whispers you tell me as you talk in your sleep

In your dreams I will manifest
Before you I will appear
With a rose in my hand and a thorn in my palm
The blood will trickle, as the tears will roll
As this story unfolds in your eyes, behold.

Creative Commons LicenseSome rights reserved. The above work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License.

 

The above image is ©2007-2008 *Isselinai

I’d like to thank Dylan (who constantly calls me ‘Boss’ for reasons I do not know) for helping me edit and find a picture and also pick a title for this poem. Yes, this one, unlike the previous two, is a poem!

Those were lyrics, BIG DIFFERENCE! -.-
Oh and I must also thank The Pajamas That Move for her… umm… contributions? Though I didn’t use her title suggestions… thank you anyway (:

Comments
21 Responses to “Ballad of the Nightingale”
  1. Ahamed Nizar says:

    Awesome!!! i Love this one!

  2. kashmira says:

    There’s a rose that is waiting to be plucked
    Waiting for a hand brave enough to overlook the thorns

    as always,my fav bit:)
    keep writing imaad.
    xx

    p.-s love the picture as always

  3. Beena says:

    I really like this, as I mentioned to you earlier.

    I feel like it relates to me right now, as if someone’s saying what I need to hear right now.

    But really nice, I like this one a lot.

    x.

  4. sophie says:

    I like how its like someone is observing someone elses actions or feelings and using interestin diction to reflect to them how they see it.. lol if tht makes sense but yea..
    interesting use of diction and good flow

  5. Who are you writing about dude? whoever it is, I hope they feel the same way about you. 🙂

    And you know what the pic reminds me of? The last lines of Bette Midler’s song “The Rose” – Just remember that in the winter, far beneath the bitter snow, lies the seed that with the sun’s love, in the spring, becomes… the rose.

  6. Whackster says:

    Great stuff! whoever you are writing about, if you did write this for someone special, i hope they keep inspiring you!

  7. Every morning I come into work and read your blog which makes me smile at your talent! 🙂

  8. Shaheen says:

    this is awesome:)
    and .. ahem 😛
    who did you write this for imaad ? -_-

    but anyhoo
    i really really like it.. especially the first and the last verse (:
    oh oh
    & i really like these two lines from the 2nd verse
    There’s a rose that is waiting to be plucked
    Waiting for a hand brave enough to overlook the thorns

    + i really like the picture (:

  9. Shru says:

    love this. i like your recent poems ALOT. they’re getting really, really good!! less morbid as well 🙂

  10. arya says:

    one of your best without any doubt at all! 😀 awesum work!

  11. bkladyired says:

    I too agree that this is a very beautiful poem – I particularly like the rose imagery. You write as though you experience, and if you experience that which you write – you are a very deep well.

  12. Angel says:

    wow… love the poem and really great pic! Powerful imagery in the last three lines too

  13. gamz says:

    iii like this:)

  14. Tarini says:

    There’s a story that lies behind your eyes
    And you’ve covered it up, cleverly disguised
    You try to draw attention outside the lines
    But I’ve seen a glimpse and I know what’s inside

    A perfectly carved poem, Imaad. 🙂 Perfect rhythm, makes the read more enjoyable. AND, I agree with shruthi all the way! Much better poetry, more interesting shall I say?

  15. Nefarious says:

    where do all these keep coming from???

  16. Nefarious says:

    who is your princess.. prince of darkness?..

  17. St.Fallen says:

    a Persian goddess by the name of Anahita (:

  18. Vithuuuuuuuuuuu says:

    ok now i like this !!
    dude your making me run out of things to say 🙂
    x

  19. gutterflower says:

    Went through all of your stuff. I’m not going to compliment you any further, because I’ve run out of adjectives. 🙂
    This is def my favourite. 🙂 Lucky, lucky girl. Hope she reads what you write!
    And as for the demo, I think cyanide rings shows off your voice a lot better than the nut cracker. Good luck with the whole thing!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Civilizations was boring as usual, though this time I didn’t fall asleep. The last time my Persian goddess had to wake me up whenever he wrote anything on the board. Hehe. I submitted my English assignment […]



Leave a Reply

