.Insecurity

Most people are insecure about at least one aspect of their personality or their body. Some people are held back in the things they do because of this. Very few people overcome their insecurities. And a very minute few have none at all. I think I’m one of them.

I’m not trying to boast about it, so forgive me if this comes out sounding egoistic. I am not insecure. I know my faults and my weaknesses. I know what I’m good at and I know where I need improvement. These things I’ve either noticed myself or others have pointed them out to me. And I acknowledge them and try to be the best I can be despite all that. I try to better myself, but sometimes you just can’t get over it. And you don’t always have to.

Those who know me know I’m an open person. I have an open mind and open ears and, unfortunately, an open mouth that’s open a little too often. You might say I wear my heart on my sleeve. You’re probably right. I think I do. I know it’s not a good thing. It makes me vulnerable and everyone’s aware of it. It doesn’t bother me though. I’m not insecure about it. My heart maybe perched on my sleeve but that doesn’t mean I’m going to let you tear it apart. I’m careful most of the time. I haven’t been heartbroken since my first break-up. I just went through yet another one and I’m still holding strong. But I have to admit one thing. I guess this line sums it up “This heart is not a broken one, but where have all the colours gone?”. It’s from the song Obvious Heart by Finger Eleven.

What is insecurity though?  Apparently it’s the state of being subject to danger or injury. But aren’t we always? Even if you think you’re well protected with a brick wall and a body of armour, are you ever really safe? I think we are all susceptible to being hurt. Sooner or later you will be. One day you will break down. One day you will be vulnerable. One day you too will wear your heart on your sleeve. One day you will ache like everyone else has. That day will come. Your brick wall won’t hold up forever. The wolf will find a way.

Comments
One Response to “.Insecurity”
  1. “Your brick wall won’t hold up forever. The wolf will find a way.” love the line. it’s so quotable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

