Never Did

She gave me an ashtray and she said, ” every time you tap the ashes off a cigarette, you will remember me. And every ash that falls will fall on me, burning me.”

She never did like the fact that I smoked.
She never did like much of anything I did.
I never did understand what she saw in me.
I never did understand what I saw in her.

A few months down the line and all hell broke loose.
She wanted out and I was glad to lose.
We never did forget all that we’d been through.
I just tapped it off like ash on my shoes.

I never did quit smoking, even when she was gone.
She never did return my messages, though she promised she would.
I never did see her face again.
She never did speak my name again.

But I still have that ashtray. And I still remember the words that she said. Every time I tapped the ashes off a cigarette, every time I struck a match or put out a cigarette, with every ash that fell, I remembered what she said.

I never did empty that ashtray.
I watched it fill up and turn into a dune of cigarettes.
I never did empty that ashtray.
Until today.

Cenicero, Cenicero
Mi corazón de cenicero

Comments
7 Responses to “Never Did”
  1. TheWhacksteR says:

    cool..i like this one mucho!

  2. lady divine says:

    nice…. I kinda liked it too….:) strangely..:)

  3. Chavie says:

    nice, would like to see you perform this… did you buy a microphone yet? 🙂

  4. Delilah says:

    hmmm…. me likes

  5. Cadence says:

    Nice. Thought provoking.

  6. gutterflower says:

    Really like this one.

Leave a Reply

