Purpose

Trinity: I know why you’re here, Neo. I know what you’ve been doing… why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why night after night, you sit by your computer. You’re looking for him. I know because I was once looking for the same thing. And when he found me, he told me I wasn’t really looking for him. I was looking for an answer. It’s the question that drives us, Neo. It’s the question that brought you here. You know the question, just as I did.

Morpheus: Do you believe in destiny, Neo?

Neo: No

Morpheus: why?

Neo: Because I don’t like the idea that I am not in control of my life. So are we really in control of our lives? Or is there a sinister force working at all times, weaving our meagre existence into a cosmic conspiracy?

Agent Smith: I’d like to share a revelation that I’ve had during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species and I realized that you’re not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding environment but you humans do not. You move to an area and you multiply and multiply until every natural resource is consumed and the only way you can survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. Do you know what it is? A virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer of this planet. You’re a plague and we are the cure.

Agent Smith: Did you know that the first Matrix was designed to be a perfect human world? Where none suffered, where everyone would be happy. It was a disaster. No one would accept the program. Entire crops were lost. Some believed we lacked the programming language to describe your perfect world. But I believe that, as a species, human beings define their reality through suffering and misery. The perfect world was a dream that your primitive cerebrum kept trying to wake up from. Which is why the Matrix was redesigned to this: the peak of your civilization.

Agent Smith: I hate this place. This zoo. This prison. This reality, whatever you want to call it, I can’t stand it any longer. It’s the smell, if there is such a thing. I feel saturated by it. I can taste your stink and every time I do, I fear that I’ve somehow been infected by it.

Agent Smith: We’re not here because we’re free. We’re here because we’re not free. There is no escaping reason; no denying purpose. Because as we both know, without purpose, we would not exist.

It is purpose that created us.
Purpose that connects us.
Purpose that pulls us.
That guides us.
That drives us.
It is purpose that defines us.
Purpose that binds us.

We are here because of you, Mr Anderson. We’re here to take from you what you tried to take from us.

Purpose.

Can you feel it Mr. Anderson? Closing in on you? Oh I can, I really should thank you after all. It was, after all, it was your life that taught me the purpose of all life.

The purpose of life is to end.

I was 8 when I first watched The Matrix. I remember my older brother shooing me off saying it’s not for kids. When I was older I bought the second movie as it came out, eager to find out what happens next. And he asked me, “do you even know what the Matrix is?”. I couldn’t answer, but it didn’t matter. Because I understood what it meant.

There’s a reason The Matrix is in the Top 50 movies on imdb, there’s a reason it was so well received. Because it wasn’t just a groundbreaking action flick, it was mindblowing. As an 8 year old I was introduced to a whole new concept of life and existence. To think I was just like a battery, an energy source for machines that we ourselves created. Do you really think it’s impossible?

The way we’re headed right now, I believe it is. Right now humans perceive evolution as technological advancement. But we’re wrong, technology will only bring us closer to our doom. So then what do we do? Simple.

Quit relying on machines, on systems, on rules and regulations. On fuel, electricity, and all these meaningless things that we have created a purpose for. There is nothing we can’t do by ourselves, our minds are capable of great things. Greater than the invention of the computer or the complex calculations it’s capable of performing. We don’t need them.

What if we could move ourselves simply by thinking it? What if we could change the shape of an object, just by using our minds? Do you really think that’s impossible? Think about it, if for the past 500 years, if human beings had spent all their time meditating, concentrating, focusing on just one objective, to evolve, to step forward, using our minds, not our feet.

Then by this time we would be moving mountains, literally. By now we would be capable of solving all the problems we’re faced with. There would be no need to wage war over energy resources and firearms. We would be at peace with each other because we would understand there is no reason not to be. We would be able to understand the purpose of this life, the meaning of this existence.

And maybe it’s not such a bright starry dream, maybe there is no Heaven, Hell or an afterlife. Maybe it’s just an end. Maybe the purpose of life, is death. But before we die, what brings meaning to our existence, is what we’ve accomplished. And that is what we’re lacking, that is the point that we have been missing. We need to add meaning to our existence, we need to do something that is beyond a single persons selfish desires. We need to evolve.

So what are you going to do?

Are you going to click the X on the top of this page and forget everything you just read? Are you going to leave a comment saying I’m crazy or I’m not making any sense? Are you going to applaud me for my thoughts and say I have opened your eyes? Or are you simply going to ignore it? And am I even going to care?

No, I don’t. I’ve never cared.

I leave you now with a choice for you to make. It might not make a difference, but it’s just a little experiment. I want you to choose, between ignorance and the search for truth. There is the Blue pill, and there is the Red pill. If you don’t know what they represent, then read this article here that explains the philosophy behind it. Basically, the Blue pill means you remain ignorant and you change nothing, the Red pill means you seek the answer and whether or not you change anything depends on whether or not you find it.

Now decide and leave a comment, you don’t have to say anything, if you wish you can just ignore everything I’ve said in this post, but all I want to know is what you chose, do you take the Red pill, or the Blue pill?

Choose Pill by *rockyspringsster

Comments
18 Responses to “Purpose”
  1. Makuluwo says:

    Always been a fan of the red jellybeans.

  2. The Unsilent says:

    i took the red pill. You got any E? Can i get some E please? 🙂

  3. a booger says:

    machung. you just took the whole purpose life and creation itself from a chick flick

  4. Jerry says:

    I like machines. You’re free to do whatever, but I don’t wanna live like some monk. Chances are, we’d create machines to help us understand our own minds. There are no pills. Just life.

  5. Chavie says:

    blue, in a heartbeat! 😉

    what? 😀

  6. black says:

    rathu paata.

  7. dylan` says:

    I would choose “red” without giving it a second thought man..
    I always loved how “The Matrix” presented life to me. seems so much more logical…
    Personally i think that these ideas of heaven and hell, sin, etc. is a load of bollocks man!
    afterall these ideas were spawned by our fellow human beings.
    i see no proof that a higher power had a say in anything.
    but thats just me. 😀
    great post bytheway (Y)

Leave a Reply

