Ignorance Is Facebook

This picture is my current profile picture on Facebook, and it’s quite rare that I post a profile picture without my face on it. Actually, I think this is the only one which doesn’t. I saw this guy at the bus stop near Town Hall, around Odel and the mosque. He was sitting down smoking a bidi which he would use to relight cigarette butts off the floor and smoke them.

He kept doing this, not looking up at a single passerby, not asking anyone for aadharaya, he didn’t bother. He didn’t pretend as though he needed anyones charity for him to survive, the cigarettes were clearly enough for him. I gave him some money and told him to buy a cigarette with it, he smiled, nodded and put it in his pocket. Later on I saw him sitting on a wheelchair, pulled back, watching the traffic at the junction, in a world of his own. I envied him.

Funny enough the picture managed to put off a FB friend enough for her to take me off her contacts list. I’ll post the exchange over here:

Ignoramus: can u pls change ur profile pic..how sad is that!! we come to FB to forget the reality of the world…sniff sniff..

Me: the old dude had his own way of escaping reality. He sat there smoking a bidi, using it to relight cigarette butts off pavement. later on he sat back near the roundabout at town hall and watched the traffic. he didn’t seem to worried about reality 😛

Ignoramus: may be but I am!!, did’nt u get that the 1st time!!

Me: taking the picture off doesn’t take him off the streets. closing your eyes might help (:

Ignoramus: no taking u off my contacts will..thanks

Me: you’re welcome.

What I found ironic was that her name is Maya.

Comments
11 Responses to “Ignorance Is Facebook”
  1. Whacko says:

    ‘we come to FB to forget the reality of the world’

    now that’s a bit sad no

  2. Paparé Boy says:

    I once gave my breakfast to that man.

  3. Paparé Boy says:

    He looked very happy and thankful. I can’t remember what I felt. It was not an altogether happy feeling.

  4. Tuan says:

    I saw this guy sitting on his wheelchair near Salaka… just watching traffic and smoking… me and my wife saw this and could not think of what exactly he was doing!

    BTW coming to FB to get away from the real world is crazy… she needs to go to SecondLife 🙂

  5. Sach says:

    Your friend needs help. Maybe this guy can help her.

  6. Dee says:

    sad for the poor guy. i guess some ppl feel that ignorance is bliss. but then again, you get all sorts of people in the world and your can’t change it. But should this be up on the net? I mean, there can only be so many ppl called maya right? but i guess u wouldn’t care
    😉 *shuts up and awaits sarcy comment flung in my direction* heeh

  7. Little acts of kindness goes a long way.

  8. black says:

    “we come to FB to forget the reality of the world…” FTW LMAO 😄 Get a life. (apparently there are cheap ones in Nugegoda.)
    ps. brilliant pic!

  9. Makuluwo says:

    How hilariously gay.

  10. Muffet says:

    Amazing how superficial people can be. But good on you, as someone once said never look down on anybody unless you’re helping him up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

