Know

You know, I wonder if it’s fair, this knowing people without knowing them thing. You know what I’m talking about, we all do. Over the years, through blogging, through twitter, we’ve come to get to know each other. Little bits, snippets of each others lives, little glimpses, mostly textual, sometimes visual, maybe an eye, an arm, a shoulder, nothing that would give away too much. That’s how it usually is at the beginning.

You let someone read your thoughts, and read theirs too. But you can’t let them meet you. You shut them off at one point, you are entitled to your privacy. But isn’t it, in some way, wrong to give them what you do?

It seems to me like a tease, taking off one piece at a time, revealing bits of yourself so that the other does the same. But never showing your whole self, be it how you appear superficially, or what’s within. It’s only bits and pieces, fragments, a patchwork that they have to put together. It intrigues them. It entertains you. And no one gets hurt. Convenient.

I feel cheated when I share things and don’t get back, this is something I haven’t noticed until these past few months during which all I’ve been needed to do is to basically share things with people just as they share with me. A more or less equal exchange of thoughts, stories, feelings, not necessarily because it’s so interesting, but because it’s nice to give and get back.

Before this it never really mattered at all. But I’ve been thinking of this lately, and I’m not sure if I’m going to bother conversing with bloggers anymore. That is, the one’s I’ve never met. Besides, what could I possibly miss?

photo-credit: grundwortamt

Comments
7 Responses to “Know”
  1. chathuraw says:

    Hmmmm….

  2. Dee says:

    methinks you over think… to each his or her own. Not everyone is an open book. 🙂 and that’s cool too.

  3. PseudoRandom says:

    I suppose it depends on why you ‘expose’ yourself in the first place. If you do it with the intention of the readers reciprocating, then it’s fair to feel cheated. If you do it with the intention of just getting stuff off your chest, and if the presence (or absence) of an audience doesn’t matter to you, then others not reciprocating won’t matter. I identify with the latter, so it doesn’t bother me. But like Dee said, to each his/her own.

    • St. Fallen says:

      I’m not referring to blog posts alone, rather the interactions that follow and the relationships that form out of those. each person is entitled to their own, but it’s always just one person that’s shut out isn’t it? ironically the door that’s open.

Leave a Reply

