Wal Gay Blues

Took this one with Natty’s camera, a Sony Alpha series, with a fixed focal lens at 1.8. Did some post-processing on this one, level adjustments, a tad boost in contrast, and some glow to give it that “high key” effect. Wasn’t too sure whether to go with it or not, but I kinda like how it came out. There’s still something missing though, maybe a border? Or maybe it’s the composition in itself. Hmm… So here’s the original:

Any ideas?

Oh and the subject is of course the man of many talents, Buddhi De Mal of Wagon Park.

Comments
7 Responses to “Wal Gay Blues”
  1. Chavie says:

    Nice picture mate! 🙂

    Maybe it’s the composition, too much white I guess. But I like it nonetheless! 🙂

    • St. Fallen says:

      “too much white” would be the high key, which I like as it is. my point is, what is it about the picture that doesn’t work with the high key. composition as in the framing in itself, does it need a crop, a border, should I have taken it some other way.

      I think I’ll post the original as well (:

      • Chavie says:

        I think it’s that white wall in the back. The black thing (I think painting) would’ve been a better background. 🙂

  2. Angel says:

    I prefer the original… maybe you can deepen the shodows and see what effect that will have?

  3. Me-shak says:

    May be increasing the contrast levels a little more will help. Love the picture 😀

    Cheers!

    • St. Fallen says:

      that’s such a n00bish thing to do though
      don’t see how it would work, the white would become distorted then
      unless you mean contrast levels on the original?

      I don’t really do brightness/contrast adjustments. Work with levels instead, more control. So do you mean the lows, mids, or the highs? Shadows? Highlights?

  4. Chavie says:

    a noobish crop ( http://twitpic.com/1xb719 ) but I think it places more emphasis on the two faces in the picture, that of Buddhi and Malcolm X (?) 🙂

Leave a Reply

