Reflections

She said it was all too beautiful,
too poignant, too profound.
She said she couldn’t think of what it meant,
and I wondered if that’s what she thought
as she faced her mirror each day.

How I long to be that mirror,
as she contemplates herself;
her eyes and the lines around them,
her mouth and the lips that seal them.
To be that mirror upon which lay her reflection,
as though it were my eyes she stared into,
as though it were my mouth she spoke through.

How I long to be that mirror.

Pinned against a white wall,
my spine a line along its length;
five feet and seven inches of despair,
five inches and seven strands of her hair.
My fingers – the pins of her comb,
my toes kicking inside her womb.
As she places her hands at her sides
feeling the movement inside,
I pull tighter that thread which holds us together,
and spin lightly in circles within her.

How I long to be that mirror.

photo-credit: isaiahs.deviantart.com

Comments
8 Responses to “Reflections”
  1. Dili says:

    ❤ it maan, i cant even pick a place i like better than the rest. its all good 🙂

  2. GGPurple says:

    ‘My fingers – the pins of her comb’

    that line spoke a lot to me.

  3. Undivine Intervention says:

    This is really beautiful, fatty.

  4. eXon says:

    That was brilliant, my man.

  5. Ranmalee says:

    mirror mirror on the wall, you seem to have a different meaning after all. Good one!!!

  6. Angel says:

    wow… loved it!

  7. whacko says:

    nice! The womb bit was a twist though. Now it seems like an oedipus complex

Leave a Reply

