MIA raped my eardrums.

“They told me this was a free country, but now it feels like a chicken factory”, the sheer lyrical brilliance of MIA is undeniable. And so is my sarcasm.

I had to write an in-depth review of MIA latest regurgitation, MAYA, and bloody hell it was insane! It was the weirdest thing I’ve ever heard, and I listen to a lot of weird music! This is just strange, distraught and sometimes downright vulgar to listen to. But it was assigned to me, and I wanted to do music critique, so I did it.

And strangely, I actually don’t mind one of the songs. I wouldn’t actually listen to it again though, but I could imagine people liking it. I have very little respect for her as an artist though, a lot of it felt mishy-mashy. A lot of cutting and chopping, not much coherence, very little songwriting involved. At least that’s how it seemed.

I can’t say for sure how MIA does things, if she does much at all. But I wasn’t impressed. For its genre it’s a pretty good album, I’m sure it’ll sell pretty well. Hell, given her celebrity status it’ll probably sell out! But that’s just it, isn’t it. It’s the fact that’s she’s a notorious celebrity that gets her music sold. Controversy sells, and MIA is probably the most controversial Sri Lankan born living outside the country.

Does it seem to you, though, that she’s just riding a wave? That all of this ranting about Sri Lanka is just to get her popularity up and get people listening to her music. Who knows, maybe everyone that listens to her stuff thinks it’s some revolution music that’s going to save her motherland. That’s fucking retarded, excuse me, but it is.

I know people over here who’ve done more for the cause than she has, and no I’m not talking about blowing themselves up or bombing busses. I’m talking about people who’ve actually made donations, gone to the IDP camps and helped people out. They’ve done much more than anyone who’s bought an MIA album, do any of the proceeds even go towards charities here?

Maybe we need to stop warring with each other whenever a problem has to be solved. To me, this music is aggressive, and can only inspire hate or apathy, neither of which is going to help anyone. So MIA, if you ever see this, reconsider what you’re doing here, and try to actually do some good. It’s not that hard, really.

Read the full article here:
http://www.thesundayleader.lk/2010/07/17/mia-releases-new-album-review/

Comments
5 Responses to “MIA raped my eardrums.”
  1. whacko says:

    i liked the music of her first album.. didn’t really listen to the lyrics much. Haven’t heard MAYA

  2. Dee says:

    I liked paper planes, that’s about it. aw she’s the typical brainwashed chick living abroad who knows zilch about the complex politics of sri lanka. meh. Funny that noone takes her seriously though.

  3. Vindi says:

    Agreed with Dee. I really liked Paper Planes and Come Around and I have no issues in admitting that despite her really dodgy politics.

    But sheesh, from what I’ve heard from Maya (Born Free and a couple others) I wouldn’t really hesitate to categorise it as noise pollution. She’s probably expressing her ‘art’ or something profound like that, but this neo-dada (or post-dada?) rubbish just does not cut it.

  4. PseudoRandom says:

    One visit to her myspace page (if you can see past the bizarre graphics) will probably confirm your suspicion that at least a portion of her fans are driven by her apparent ‘revolutionary heroine’ status. And of course she’s using Sri Lanka as a selling point for her music…she’s made it big and now she’s rolling in money…has she made one donation? I mean yes there is the possibility that she has done something constructive and decided not to publicise it…but considering how she is in every other aspect of her life, I doubt it. Anyway, she’s not the first person to adopt a cause to boost her own career, and I doubt she’ll be the last.

    As for her music…I haven’t listened to either of her albums, but I’ve heard a few songs. I didn’t actually like Paper Planes in its original form…the DFA remix of it, however, I love. From the new album, the Jay-Z mix of XXXO is getting a lot of airplay here, and I quite like it…but it is a bit ordinary.

  5. magerata says:

    I also liked her paperplanes as it was played over and over the radio for a while here, but I have not heard ever since. I listened / watched two interviews involving her and some tv personalities, she did not impress me. She was incoherent at the best.
    Maya? we don’t here the album nor about the album, other than reviews like;
    “Renowned troublemaker M.I.A. (née Mathangi “Maya” Arulpragasam) just can’t help making a scene. More often than not, she can be found spouting off about terrorism, genocide, and the evils of the Almighty Google. Controversy seems to follow her (or does she follow it?). The most recent scandal involved a New York Times profile piece that eviscerated her, to put it mildly, for being a hypocrite (she was caught talking about poverty and death in her native Sri Lanka while eating a truffle french fry in Beverly Hills). And there was more drama when YouTube banned her “Born Free” music video due to its in-your-face explicit nature (obese people bump uglies and gingers are rounded up and murdered). Love her or hate her, M.I.A.’s name seems to be on everyone’s lips.”
    You will find more to read here at KQED, a respected station that earlier aired one of her interviews. ,a href=”http://www.kqed.org/arts/music/article.jsp?essid=30582″> KQED

Leave a Reply

