The Microphone Project

I had to rush back from Hikka the other day since the band would be shooting a segment for The Microphone Project on Channel One MTV. We had one day to practice, and we spent the entire day going through the setlist over and over again. We weren’t tight by the end of it, but we didn’t have a choice. It was the latest date they could give us, so we had to just go in there and do our best.

And did we?

Well, to start off, our backing guitarist couldn’t make it cause he fell ill. On top of that, once we got there and started playing, I snapped a string on my guitar. This meant I had to use an electric guitar for what was meant to be played on an acoustic. The result, not as great as it could have been. But I have no idea how it’s going to sound on TV. We’ll just have to wait and see.

We played a set of originals, including songs from my personal solo project; The Drive and Love Is A Wild Bird. And of course the tracks off the Trimurti: Brahmacharya, Narayana, Atma Shatakam. I didn’t have enough time to work on Narayana, but Brahmacharya has grown quite a lot since its humble beginnings. It’s now a monster 7-minute track that I want to expand even more, I’m aiming for 15 minutes. Let’s see what happens.

I’m quite proud of myself as I managed to redeem our set with a 25 minute rendition of Atma Shatakam (Song Of The Self), with some chorus on the guitar to make it sound less “electric” and some drum fills as well to fill it out some more. I think it went quite well, I wasn’t expecting it to go on for so long. But we had to fill an hour’s segment, so it was the best way to go.

I’m seriously excited to see how it’s going to turn out, and quite psyched that we’re going to be on national TV! Will post an update when I get to know when it’ll be aired. I can’t wait!

Comments
One Response to “The Microphone Project”
  1. Me-shak says:

    Super super. Let us know when it will be aired as soon as you get to know! Looking forward for this. I’m sure it would have sounded good!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

