Jaundiced

A glass too many, I think, perhaps I’ve had too much to drink;
A bottle and a half, I feel just about as complete.
Stumbling to my feet,  spinning circles in my head,
This intoxication that has become the norm.

Yet another cigarette, lungs now filled with smoke,
Yet I can’t seem to breathe as I used to.
Inhale, exhale, the smoke enters and leaves,
Never the company I seek.

The lines of the street blur into each other,
It all looks like one winding ribbon to me.
I’m walking along a tightrope,
Ever serenely balanced.

What is the purpose of sobriety?
Or that of inebriation?
To clear the mind, perhaps,
Or to purge the heart?

An empty mind, a clear head,
Yet my vision is jaundiced.
An emotionless heart, a cold soul;
A life worth leaving.

Killing myself slowly, with each sip, with each drag,
Ever serenely balanced upon this tightrope of fate.
Inhale, exhale, the smoke enters and leaves,
Never the company I seek.

photo-credit: flickr.com/david_kittos

Comments
One Response to “Jaundiced”
  1. Angel says:

    Perhaps it is the futile attempt to purge the heart….

    I like!

Leave a Reply

