Meet Fernandes

Meet Fernandes, the latest addition to my rig. This particular model, the FGZ 400 was made and reconditioned in Japan. It’s got one of the sexiest deep, sludgy tones I’ve heard so far, and sounds pretty sweet played clean as well. Clearly a good choice for Yajna Vedana.

Specifications:
Neck : Maple, 648mm-Scale, Bolt-On
Fingerboard : Rosewood, 22 Frets, 350R
Body: Alder 45mm Graphic Finish
Pick-ups : DS-9 x 2 (Neck and Middle), VH-51 (Bridge)
Controls : 1 Volume, 1 Tone, 5-Way Lever-SW.
Bridge : FER-ST-PT

Gotoh tuners, low action, flat fretboard ideal for riffing, perfect intonations.
And no, I’m not selling it… EVER!

Over the past few months I’ve been taking my guitar playing more seriously, and it’s come to a point where I try to practice at least 4 hours a day. These past two weeks I didn’t get any practice at all because of all the travelling, but I’m hellbent on getting back to it now that I have even more motivation with the new axe. There’s a lot I can do with this baby, once I get her a Floyd Rose arm things should get much more interesting. I recorded the Numeros demo with this guitar played through a Digitech Hot Head and an old amp, the quality is horrid since I used a chat mic, but hey, beggars can’t be choosers.

One thing I can say though, even though I’m not much of a guitarist, is that practice is essential no matter what genre you play. I tend to jam most of the time, just free-flow, see whatever comes and just make something out of it. But by disciplining myself and waking up every morning at 8 and practicing till 12, I’ve gained a completely different perspective on playing this particular instrument. No two people will ever play it the same way, no matter how hard you try, you won’t. But that’s not the point, the point is to practice and familiarize yourself to the point at which you can make any sound you want at any given time. That, imo, should be the goal of any guitarist looking to take himself seriously.

Anyway, I’m not going to preach, but if you’re seriously into it I’d suggest you take yourself seriously as well as the music you’re playing, and respect your instrument like you respect the one you make love to, because as far as I’m concerned, it’s just about the same 😉

Comments
4 Responses to “Meet Fernandes”
  1. Magerata says:

    Hi Fernandez 🙂 Cool rig dude. and what you say about practice is very true. Even though I only play as a replacement bassist (so far) I try to pluck a few strings everyday.
    Looking forward to hear her soon

  2. Chavie says:

    Love the finish! Hopefully will get to hear you play soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

