Brimful

Don’t come to me when your heart is beating up your head.
Don’t come to me when the river meets its end.
They say the sea refuses no river,
But this ocean has no more room,
Brimful with tears yet to be shed.

You opened the door and packed my bags for me.
Yet you seemed to miss the baggage that was still within.
Enclosed in the four walls of your heart,
A silent reminder only heard when an ear is pressed against it.
Do you forget that it too belongs to me?

Don’t come to me when the realization dawns upon you.
Don’t come to me when disillusion raises its head.
They say the blind see beyond what is given.
Yet you failed to see what was standing in your presence,
Brimful with love yet to be made.

You opened me up and let yourself inside.
Yet you closed me off from the place you hide.
Enclosed within the four walls of my mind,
Not-so silent reminder only quietened by the look in your eyes.
Do I forgive or forget or go blind?

Leave a Reply

